11 Kanpauk residents released, 3 others still in custody


Yebyu, February (4)

Eleven of the detainees apprehended by the military council in Kanpauk village in Tanintharyi Region’s Yebyu Township have been released, while three others remain in custody, the locals told Than Lwin Times.

The Mawrawaddy naval base returned 11 detainees to their homes in the evening of February 2.

Among those released were Ko Aarkar Man, U Tun Shein, Daw Pu, Daw Khin Swe Latt, U Maung Maung, Daw Mar Yi, Daw Cho Latt, Daw Cho Cho Aung, Daw Mi San Tin, Daw Ni Ni and U San Oo.

They were arrested after the PDF shot Kanpauk administrator U Khin Soe, and his assistant U Hla Htay and former administrator U Aye Han on January 25.

After more than a week of investigation, 11 were released, but Ko Min Min, Ma Laeti aka Thi Ji Soe and Daw Mi San were still detained at Mawrawaddy naval base.

After three military-affiliated people were gunned down in Kanpauk, the miliary council restricted motorcycling, which created problems for locals.

News-Than Lwin Times


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here