Dawei, March (30)

Two students from Tanintharyi Region's Dawei Technological University were sentenced to 10 years in prison by the junta court in Dawei Prison on March 28, the sources close to the matter told Than Lwin Times.

Technical students Ko Myo Min Oo and Ko Aung Wai Yan Tun were each sentenced to 10 years in prison after the military council charged them under Section 50 (j) of the Anti-Terrorism Act.

The military council in September last year, the military council arrested Ko Myo Min Oo of Khonwindak Ward, and Ko Aung Wai Yan Tun of Kyatsarpyin Ward at their homes and prosecuted them under the Terrorism Act.

In May 2021, Ko Myo Min Oo was sentenced to prison under Section 505 (a) and (c) of the Penal Code for protesting against the military regime. He was released on parole six months later.

According to the January statement of the Dawei Political Prisoners Network, 345 of the nearly 370 detained in Dawei prison after the military coup have been sentenced to prison terms.

The Assistance Association for the Political Prisoners (AAPP) reported on March 28 that there were more than 20,000 people arrested nationwide during the military coup, and more than 5,000 of them were sentenced to prison terms.

News-Than Lwin Times


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *