Nay Pyi Taw, April (30)

 The Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC) political parties are not able to attract ethnic armed groups and the people, Dr Aye Maung, chairman of the Arakan Front Party (AFP), criticized.

On April 27, the election was held for the Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC) political parties, which were formed as a result of the NCA peace accord.

Forty-six political parties participated in the election, which was marred by factional selection.

Dr. Aye Maung, chairman of AFP, said he had asked the UPDJC political party to transform itself with new presentations and approaches to attract EAOs and the public.

“I have repeatedly told them to pave the way for existing parties that do not move forward. I also told U Sai Aik Paung. Besides I also talk to the NSPNC to include Ko Ko Gyi, the leader of the People’s Party, who has a new approach and an idea. Political parties need to be transformed to attract EAOs and the public with fresh presentations and approaches. I remarked that it could not be done in the old method. But it was an election that did not pave the way,” he told the Than Lwin Times.

The People’s Party led by Ko Ko Gyi and the Arakan Front Party led by Dr Aye Maung resigned in the UPDJC election. The resignation is said to be due to the same result.

In the UPDJC coalition election, 16 members of the Standing Committee and 16 members of the Sub-Committee were elected.

As a result of the vote, for 16 seats on the Standing Committee, the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), Pa-O National Organization Party (PNO), Arakan National Party (ANP), Mon Unity Party (MUP), National Unity Party (NUP), Democratic Party (Myanmar) and Shan Nationalities League for Democracy Party (SNLD) were elected.

 Sai Aik Paung, chairman of the Shan Nationalities Democratic Party, also known as the White Tiger Party or Kya Phyu Party; Ko Ko Gyi, chairman of the People’s Party, and Dr Aye Maung, chairman of the Arakan Front Party (AFP) were elected to the standing committee but they had resigned because of the same number of votes.

The Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC) is comprised of a coalition of the government, parliament, and the military; NCA signatories; and a group of political parties with 16 representatives each.

UPDJC is a steering committee that is responsible for discussing political issues, including the Union Peace Conference, regional political dialogues, national political dialogues, and ethnic political dialogues.

The Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) says the UPDJC has nothing to do after the military coup.

News – Than Lwin Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *