14 political inmates released from Dawei prison


Dawei, 3 October

Fourteen political inmates were released from Tanintharyi Region’s Dawei Prison, Dawei Political Prisoners Network reported on October 2, that

Among those who were released were the former chairman of the Dawei University Students’ Union, Ko Aung Wai Yan Kyaw, and 14 other political prisoners, including Ko Thuta Tin Soe, Ko Aung Thura Zaw, Ko Ye Tun, Ko Wai Yan Htet, Ko Kyaw Min U, Ko Zin Myat Oo, Ko Ko Lin Naing, and Ko Win Lat Htwe.

They were all detained on March 18, 2021, in We Kyun Ward, Dawei, and the most of them were released after completing their sentences.

They were each sentenced to four years in prison under Section 505 (a) of Penal Code and Section 19 (f) of Arms Act.

According to the Dawei Political Prisoners Network, about 400 male and female political prisoners have been incarcerated in Dawei Prison for more than two and a half years since the coup.

The Assistance Association for Political Prisoners (AAPP) reported on October 1 that more than 1,800 civilians have been arrested for various reasons in Tanintharyi Region, and most of them were sentenced to prison terms.

News-Than Lwin Times



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here