Paung, 4 October

The military council filed new cases against four local men who were arrested from Ottan Tar Village in Mon State’s Paung Township under the Anti-Terrorism Act, according to sources close to the military council.

On September 3, after a surveillance police officer, Ko Ko Lwin, was shot dead at the Paung police station, regime forces entered Ottant Tar village and arrested at least 20 residents.

Four local residents, Ko Chit Thu Paing, Ko Min Tun Myint Kyaw, Ko Saw Yarzar Min and Ko Aung Min Htwe, were charged again under Section 52 (a) and Section 52 (a) of the Anti-Terrorism Act at the Paung police station on October 2.

Similarly, the military council filed cases against three residents of Ottan Tar village, Daw Khin Than Nu, Daw Zin Mar Tun, and Daw Sandar Lin, who were arrested on September 28 under the same Anti-Terrorism Act.

On September 20, Daw Cho Win, Daw Khin Thidar, and Ko Phoe Cho from Ottan Tar Village were charged with the Anti-Terrorism Act.

If convicted, the 10 locals could face a maximum sentence of life in prison.

More than 800 civilians were arrested, and most of them were sentenced to prison terms, according to the Assistance Association for Political Prisoners (AAPP).

News-Than Lwin Times


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *