Nay Pyi Taw, 15 October

As the military council prepares to celebrate the 8th  anniversary of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA), the statement by the three ethnic armed organizations reaffirms the invalidation of the NCA, the KNU told Than Lwin Times.

The NCA signatories, the Karen National Union (KNU), the Chin National Front (CNF) and the All Burma Students’ Democratic Front (ABSDF), issued a joint statement on October 12 regarding the military council’s mock talks based on the NCA and the 8th anniversary of the NCA.

The three EAOs who are fighting against the military have explicitly said that the military council’s activities, which are aimed at the people, have further strengthened the invalidity of the NCA.

Therefore, the three groups expressed their common political goals and stances on the establishment of a federal democratic union, including the fact that there is no negotiation until the military exists the politics.

Padoh saw Kale Sae, a spokesperson for the Karen National Union (KNU) reaffirmed the invalidity of the NCA and told Than Lwin Times that if all like-minded groups implement political common agreements at the same time, they will be successful.

The three revolutionary groups, KNU, CNF, and ABSDF, are signatories to the NCA, but due to the latest coup by the military, they are fighting against the military council in collaboration with the revolutionary forces and the People’s Defense Forces (PDFs).

The three revolutionary groups said that the coup destroyed the basic principles and objectives of the NCA and invalidated the 2008 Constitution, thus halting the processes and negotiations based on the NCA.

U Than Soe Naing pointed out, “After the coup, ASEAN passed a resolution regarding the military council’s violent repression against the public, but the military council has not followed it until today.”

The Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) was signed by eight ethnic armed organizations, the government, the military, and the Hluttaw on October 15, 2015 under President U Thein Sein.

The New Mon State Party (NMSP) and the Lahu Democratic Union (LDU) joined the NCA during the NLD government led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, on February 13, 2018.

News – Than Lwin Times

Photo: MRTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *