Paung, 3 November

Six locals who were arrested by the junta army from Ottan Tar and Kywegyan villages in Paung Township, Mon State, were sentenced to two to five years in prison, respectively, according to sources close to the police force.

In the first week of September, the military council arrested at least 10 local residents after a surveillance officer, Ko Ko Lwin, was shot dead on the Yangon-Mawlamyine highway near Moe Naing Ward in Paung Township.

On October 27, the Paung Township Court handed down Ko Aung Min Htwe, Ko Chit Thu Paing, Saw Yarzar Min, and Ma Aye Ni Ni Aung of Kywegyan village a two-year prison term each under Section 505(a) of the Penal Code.

Furthermore, on October 31, the military regime sentenced U Soe Moe Aung and the other to five years in prison under Section 52(a) of the Anti-Terrorism Act.

According to the police, the military council sent male prisoners to Thaton Prison and female to Kyaikmaraw Central Prison.

Since the military coup, nearly 800 civilians were arrested, and most of them received prison terms in Mon State, the Assistance Association for the Political Prisoners (AAPP) announced.

News – Than Lwin Times

Photo-  Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *