Junta dissolves 40 political parties including NLD


Nay Pyi Taw, 30 March

Myanmar junta appointed Union Election Commission issued a notification on 28 March to dissolve 40 political parties that failed to register within a specific period.

It also said under the Section 25 of Political Party Registration Law, any political party that failed to register within 60 days have been automatically cancelled as a political party.

Among these 40 political parties are the National League for Democracy, the Shan Nationalities Democracy Party, the Ta’ang (Palaung) National Party, the Arakan League for Democracy, the Chin National League for Democracy Party, the Lahu National Development Party, the Kayen National Party, the Democratic Party for aNew Society, and the Karen National Party.

The notification also said application for establishment of a political party can be submitted under Section 3 of the Political Parties Registration Law.

News—Than Lwin Times

Photo: MND


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here