Yangon, June (25)

The five Ethnic Armed Organizations (EAOs) that signed the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) and military council plan to hold peace talks in the coming days, the five NCA-signatories told Than Lwin Times.

According to the invitation of The National Solidarity and Peacemaking Negotiation Committee (NSPNC) of the military council, the peace talks are scheduled to be held in Nay Pyi Taw from June 26 to 28.

Among those who will attend the peace talks are the five NCA-signatories: the Arakan Liberation Party (ALP), the Karen Peace Council (KNU/KNLA-PC), the Democratic Karen Benevolent Army (DKBA), the Lahu Democratic Union (LDU), and the Pa’o National Liberation Organization (PNLO).

“On June 17, the seven Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement – Signatories, Ethnic Armed Organizations (NCA-S EAOs) held plenary meeting and Upon the agreement, five of the seven NCA-S EAOs have decided to attend the meeting together from June 26 to 28. The other two organizations, the New Mon State Party (NMSP) and the Restoration Council for Shan State (RCSS), will meet with the military council separately.

The five NCA-signatories may discuss topics such as the development of an inclusive peace dialogue framework, the resumption of the peace process, the federal concept, and civilian protection.

At the end of April 2021, seven NCA-signatories and three non-NCA signatories attended at least four occasions of the peace talks organized by military leader General Min Aung Hlaing.

In early June, China’s mediation, the military council, and the Three Brotherhood Alliance gathered in Mongla, eastern Shan State, for the first time in more than two years since the coup. However, the dialogue was called off due to disagreements over the issues to be discussed.

News-Than Lwin Times


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *