Military council replaces regional and state security ministers


Nay Pyi Taw, 3 September

Myanmar military council announced on 1 September replacement of  five ministers for Security and Border Affairs in Kachin, Kayah, Karen and Chin states, as well as Mandalay Region, where fighting is raging with the junta army.

Among the new ministers who were replaced are Colonel Kyaw Thura instead of Colonel Aung Kyi Linn of Kachin State, Colonel Than Soe Aung of Kayah State instead of Colonel Myint Wai, and Colonel Min Thu Kyaw of Karen State instead of Colonel Myo Min Naung.

According to CDM Sergeant Zeya, because some of the replaced ministers are of retirement age, juniors are given the task for motivation, as is the military procedure.

The states and regions of the new security and border affairs ministers include numerous strongholds of armed resistance to the military regime.

The Ethnic Armed Organizations (EAOs) are based in Kachin, Chin, Kayah, and Karen states, fighting against the military council alongside the People’s Defense Forces (PDF).

CDM Capt. Kaung Thu Win told Than Lwin Times that the newly appointed ministers are those who have been there since before the military took power and were handed over after a long time.

The military council, which extended the state of emergency for another six months, replaced some council members, union ministers, and senior officials in the first week of August.

Currently, the state of emergency has passed on month, and the military council is desperately trying to stabilize the country with the military ruling for the remaining five months, according to political analysts.

News: Than Lwin Times

Photo: MOI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here