Nay Pyi Taw, 16 May

The military council declared 17 townships in Rakhine State as the disaster-affected area on 15 May.

 Major devastation occurred in most of the township in Myanmar’s western state as  severe Cyclone Mocha swept through Rakhine coaster areas on 14 May.

The Department of Meteorology and Hydrology of Myanmar coded the cyclone as Green stage.

The townships included in the  cyclone-stricken area are Kyaukphyu, Manaung, Ramree, Ann, Sittwe, Pauktaw, Ponnagyun, Rathedaung, Gwa, Taungup, Thandwe, Maungtaw, Buthidaung, Kyauktaw, Minbya, Mrauk-U and Myebon.

However, the  maximum wind speech is forecast at 30 mph in Sagaing Mandalay, Kachin and Shan due to the remanent of clouds from the storm.

 Nearly 90 percent of Sittway township was reportedly damaged by Cyclonic Mocha, but the exact death toll remains unknown.

News—Than Lwin Times

Photo—Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Offices

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *