Some top military officials removed from positions


Nay Pyi Taw, 4 August

Following the reshuffle, the coup military council, which extended the state of emergency by six months, officially removed some top officials, including union ministers, on August 2.

According to Section 419 of the 2008 Constitution, members of the military council, U Maung Ko and Dr. Aung Kyaw Min, were relieved of their duties, and Dr. Kyaw Tun was transferred and assigned as a member of the Central Advisory Body of military regime.

The military council allowed U Tun Tun Oo, who served as the chief justice of the Supreme Court from the U Thein Sein administration until the military council seized power, to retire on medical grounds.

Furthermore, Union Auditor General U Tin Oo, Chairman of the Anti-Corruption Commission Dr. Htay Aung, and Chairman of the National Human Rights Commission U Hla Myint were all forced to retire on health grounds.

Similarly, the Union Ministers of the military council, such as U Ko Ko from the Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture, U Thaung Han from the Ministry of Electric Power, U Myo Myint Oo from the Ministry of Energy and Dr. Pwint San from the Ministry of Labour, are also among those who have been forced into retirement.

General Min Aung Hlaing, the coup leader, retains his existing post as chairman of the newly-formed military council, and the top military officers stick to their current positions without changes.

According to Section 419 of the Constitution, whenever the state of emergency is extended, the military council normally forces council members, ministers, and top officials to retire and be replaced.

News-Than Lwin Times



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here